Not so Sweet Sixteen

Living in Philippines and seeing the Daily Prompt asking about my sixteenth birthday, I was like “Oooh, my Sweet Sixteen huh.”

First off, Sweet Sixteen is like the Debut Party [here in Philippines] which usually happens when we celebrate our 18th birthday.

According to what I’ve read:

Sweet Sixteen  is a coming of age party celebrating a girl’s sixteenth birthday in North America, primarily in the United States and Canada 

[Source]

…while here in the Philippines,

It is a traditional Filipino coming-of-age celebration for young women in which it celebrates a young woman’s 18th birthday, the age of maturity in the Philippines. Although also reaching maturity at 18, Filipino men mark their own Debut on their 21st birthday, albeit with less formal celebrations or none altogether.

[Source]

OK, so … my sixteenth birthday is not as special as my 18th birthday. We had the usual food the we prepare for family gatherings (like rice, menudo, lumpia, chicken curry, etc.) and the main event was the drinking session! Hahaha! It’s not just a simple dinner, I have my cousins and my friends celebrating with us that evening and we drunk all night of course! That’s the first time that I got drunk by the way. Hahaha!

All the memories came flooding in, hahaha! Such happy memories. 🙂

17 thoughts on “Not so Sweet Sixteen

Leave a Reply

