Earthdance Manila

After eating breakfast (which is different from my midnight cakes), I went back to see what the Daily Prompt have for today.

Daily Prompt: Beyond the Pale

When was the last time you did something completely new and out of your element? How was it? Will you do it again?
I asked myself first if there’s something completely new that I tried recently. I looked at some old photos to get some inspiration too and I found these!
Here are some pictures that I took during the event

Here are some pictures that I took during the event

Well, 2011 is not so recent but yes, attending to this event is one of the things that I love doing. I am not someone who loves huge social gatherings so whenever I come to Earthdance Manila, I always make sure that I have at least one friend with me during that event. I attended this gathering twice only (2010 and 2011) and for both of those, I’m just part of the crowd who’s watching from the festivities.
Well, Earthdance 2011 is a little different though. I went there with Keith, one of our Pagan friends, who knows A LOT of people in that gathering.Those people who, on the other hand, knows the organizers (some are the organizers themselves). I can still remember that night: We’re expecting a strong rain and we’re worried that it will affect the gathering. As early as 4 in the afternoon, strong wind was already blowing. We waited ’til it’s already dark before the Babaylan started the ritual. They started dancing in one huge circle and the organizers kept on “pulling” the visitors to participate. Since they personally know Keith (and Keith never wanted to do anything if I won’t join), we joined in the dancing and the celebration. You can feel the intensity of the ritual in every blow of the wind. I literally saw the sky clearing up for that ritual. We danced and danced, enjoying the vibe of the celebration (some even went on trance when the drums came in). After that, there is a part where each of us have a leaf that we need to burn at the center of the circle (I don’t know the right term for that. It’s like an altar or a set up of some sort, specifically made for that ritual and gathering). I met a lot of people that night, most of them are practicing the craft for years already, some are relatively new. I had to go home at 9pm that night though (my curfew was 8pm) and I missed some other fun things that they did (Keith said they still had the lantern thing to as closing remarks for that event).
The rain that we’re expecting for the whole day? Well it still came exactly one hour after the gathering.
These are pictures from their Facebook page : https://www.facebook.com/earthdancemanilaph

These are pictures from their Facebook page : https://www.facebook.com/earthdancemanilaph

Attending Earthdance Manila gatherings was one of my ‘resolutions’ when I started with Wicca (that was in 2010). Unfortunately, I was not able to attend that gathering for the past two years  because in 2012, I got pregnant with our first child and since then, I’ve been busy with our family. If I’ll have the chance, I’d love to go there with our new pagan friends too. I bet that would be really really fun!
4 thoughts on “Earthdance Manila

Leave a Reply

