What Do You Think?

I was looking at the blogs I follow and somehow, it lead me to this post. I used to write before way back in high school. I am such a bookworm that time, you can never see me without a book in my hand. You know how people look nowadays when they are using their smartphones in social gatherings? Change the smartphone with a Harry Potter book (or something from Charles Dickens).

Well, there was a time when I attempted to write a fan fictions (yes, not something that passes for publication) of the books that I love combined with the anime characters that I’m fond of.

I did several that time, but I only finish up ’til the second to fourth chapter. I usually ask my brother or my mom to read it. They never really read it so I didn’t get any feedback, hahaha! I tried asking my friend too, but since we’re both anime and book lovers with very different opinions, she somehow didn’t like the works that I have. She wanted major changes in the plot (I was like “Why don’t you write this then?”) In the end, I got so discouraged that I started writing less. Now, the works that I started are still in my box kept somewhere.

I strongly agree on this:

beware of asking that question regarding your work. Or more precisely, to whom you ask the question. Because not all critiques are alike. Or even useful.

Sooo true. You don’t know what effect it will give on you and your writing, so you have to be very careful in asking that question too.

Live to Write - Write to Live

My writer friends, beware of asking that question regarding your work. Or more precisely, to whom you ask the question. Because not all critiques are alike. Or even useful.

I have a friend who was on a deadline for submitting a manuscript. She had asked a (fairly new to her) critique group for feedback. Everyone wrote in the same genre, so she felt like the feedback would be helpful. What she was hoping for were plot problems, characters with the wrong name, bursts of unattributed dialogue, scenes that were in the wrong place or unclear. What she got was punctuation notes (some helpful, others contradicting the style guide of the publisher), suggestions to rewrite entire subplots, and one person questioning the premise of the book.

My friend freaked out. I finally wrote an all caps email telling her to IGNORE EVERYTHING. Because it was just too late (deadline) to makeā€¦

View original post 467 more words

Leave a Reply

