Reading this post made me miss my beloved Anne Shirley. And yes, it is indeed ten times worse.

Daughter of the bard: Natasha's Blog

It’s something of a pet hate of mine when book covers just don’t work. Some covers don’t suit the story or have an obvious mistake about what a character looks like or a point in the plot. I’ve seen images of characters with the wrong ethnic background, or complete historical inaccuracies. Sometimes it’s quite clear that the illustrator or designer (or maybe the publisher) hasn’t even read the book.

But I think we have reached a new low with the buxom blonde on the cover of a new edition of Anne of Green Gables. Yes, you heard me right. Buxom. And blonde. See for yourself if you don’t believe me.

Image

I feel downright enraged that my beloved Anne has been treated so horribly. As Anne once said, ‘This is the most tragical thing that has ever happened to me.’ Clearly the publishers (CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform) are not kindred spirits…

View original post 330 more words

Leave a Reply

